Aroostook voters support LePage, Poliquin

2 years ago

PRESQUE ISLE, Maine — Aroostook County voters skewed largely Republican in statewide races on Election Day.

Though they chose Republican candidates for governor and the U.S. House of Representatives, the rest of Maine went Democratic.

In the race for governor, The County endorsed Republican former Gov. Paul LePage, who received 16,515 votes. Incumbent Democratic Gov. Janet Mills garnered 11,298 votes, and Independent candidate Sam Hunkler earned 814, coming in a distant third.

Statewide, Mills won the Blaine House for a second term, earning 354,483 votes over 265,295 for LePage. Hunkler notched 12,967 votes. 

In the U.S. House of Representatives contest, former Republican congressman Bruce Poliquin won Aroostook with 14,288 votes, compared to Democratic incumbent Jared Golden’s 11,555. Independent Tiffany Bond earned 1,479 votes. 

Statewide results put Golden on top with 140,414 votes, compared to 128,267 for Poliquin. Bond had 19,534.

A notable exception to the overall Republican swing was in State Senate District 1, which pitted longtime Sen. Troy Jackson (D-Allagash) against newcomer Sue Bernard (R-Caribou). In the end, Jackson won the close race with 8,572 votes to Bernard’s 7,957.

In Maine Senate District 2, Republican incumbent Harold “Trey” Stewart secured the seat with 11,206 votes, over Democrat Danielle Fienberg’s 4,852.

For Maine House District 1, Republican Austin Theriault won with 2,658 votes, beating Democratic opponent Dana Appleby’s 1,090.

In House District 2, Republican Roger Albert won with 2,307 votes, against Democratic opponent Bernard Paradis with 1,655 votes.

In House District 3, Mark Babin defeated David McCrea with a vote of 1,874 to 1,766.   

House District 4 saw Timothy Guerrette elected with 2,382 votes to Jordyn Rossignol’s 1,346.

In House District 5, voters chose incumbent Joseph Underwood over Kevin Freeman by a vote of 1,857 to 1,388.

For House District 6, Donald Ardell ran unopposed and won the seat with 3,173 votes.

In House District 7, Gregory Swallow also ran unopposed and won with 2,488 votes.

House District 8 voters selected Tracy Quint over Kevin Ritchie by a vote of 3,227 to 1,455.

For Aroostook County Commissioners, newcomer William Dobbins beat incumbent Paul Adams 5,472 to 3,920.

Several County candidates ran uncontested and won their positions. They include Shawn D. Gillen, Aroostook County Sheriff; Richard Fortier, Aroostook County Finance Committee; Todd Collins, district attorney; Amy Ouellette, register of deeds, northern Aroostook; Melissa Richardson, register of deeds, southern Aroostook; and Darleen Guy, register of probate.

Complete statewide election results are available on the BDN website.