Aroostook League scholar athlete banquet honors winter athletes

CARIBOU, Maine – The Aroostook League held its 13th annual Scholar/Athlete Banquet at the Caribou High School Cafeteria on Tuesday, March 15.

Those attending were welcomed by Evan Graves, Caribou High School athletic administrator, followed by a catered meal. Graves introduced the guest speaker, Mike Chasse, owner of the family business, Bike, Board and Ski in Presque Isle.

Chasse graduated from Presque Isle High School as the salutatorian of his class, where he also excelled in soccer, alpine skiing and track and field and continued his education at the University of Maine Orono.

He received the Gary Demerchant Memorial Soccer Award, Giant Slalom Champion in Aroostook League competition and placed second in the 2000 Maine Giant Slalom Championship.  He won the 110 M hurdles Aroostook League Championship 1998 – 2000, Eastern Maine Class B 110 M hurdles champion in 2000 and holds the Presque Isle High School 110 M hurdles record.

His love of skiing led to being employed by Dopplymyer CTECH, a company which designs and installs ski lifts. Chasse has been recently inducted into the Maine Ski Hall of Fame, Presque Isle High School Hall of Fame and received the 2021 Aroostook Achievers Award

The hard work, perseverance, respect and dedication that he shows day to day is a great  representation of what it means to be from Aroostook County.

Graves introduced the Scholar/Athletes from the 17 Aroostook League high schools and each received an Aroostook League Scholar/Athlete certificate.

Recipients for girls were as follows: Ashland, Mia Carney; Caribou, Kerigan Guerrette; Central Aroostook, Madison Howlett;  Easton, Emma Lamoreau; Fort Fairfield, Camryn Ala; Fort Kent,  Kassidy O’Leary; GHCA, Alissa Nightingale; Hodgdon, Delaney Little; Houlton, Breanne  Barton;  Katahdin, Emily Beyer; Madawaska, Hannah Albert; MSSM, Hadley Blodgett; Presque Isle,  Breanna Wasson; Southern Aroostook, Bre Daggett; Van Buren, Renee Lapointe; Washburn,  Layla Harris; and Wisdom, Madysen Picard.

Recipients for boys were: Ashland, Clark Condon; Caribou, Michael Cyr; Central Aroostook,  Lucas Haines; Easton, Benjamin Currier; Fort Fairfield, Chase Coiley; Fort Kent, Austin Delisle;  GHCA, Silas Graham; Hodgdon, Josh McGillicuddy; Houlton, Collin Moody; Katahdin, Justin Hurlbert; Madawaska, Pierre Hickey; MSSM, William DeFroscia; Presque Isle, Jonah Roy;  Southern Aroostook, Chris Caswell; Van Buren, Blake Martin; and Wisdom, Carter Pelletier.

The Aroostook League presents $400 awards to five boys and five girls each year to be presented to the students upon successful completion of their first semester of their freshman year in college.

Dwight Hunter, former Caribou High School Athletic Director, assisted with the drawing for the 10 scholarship winners. Recipients for the girls were: GHCA, Alyssa Nightingale; Hodgdon,   Delaney Little; Madawaska, Hannah Albert; MSSM, Hadley Blodgett; and Van Buren, Renee Lapointe. Recipients for the boys were: Central Aroostook, Lucas Haines; Fort Fairfield, Chase Coiley; Fort Kent, Austin Delisle; Houlton, Collin Moody; and Van Buren, Blake Martin.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.