Aroostook high school basketball players enjoy one final time on the hardwood

CARIBOU, Maine — High school seniors had one last time to shine on the basketball court Wednesday evening as the Aroostook League Senior All-Star Games were played at Caribou High School.

Forty schoolboy and schoolgirl seniors were selected to participate in the Aroostook League’s annual Senior All-Star Game. All-Stars were selected based on nominations from coaches as well as input from local media representatives.

Wednesday’s games saw the best senior players from all over Aroostook County come together for an evening of basketball, displaying their skill and sportsmanship for all to see. Instead of the normal four quarters that are eight minutes each, the all star games were split into two 20-minute halves. 

The girls kicked off the evening, split into the yellow and maroon teams.


Members of the yellow team at the Aroostook County all-star basketball game on March 9 include, from left, back row: Coach Tim Watt, Courtney Kane, Sadie Lapointe, Faith Sjoberg, Maizy Cullen, Eva Calioras and Monique Polchies. Front row: Mikaela Hartsgrove, Camryn Ala, Sara McShea and Kaelyn Lawlor. (David DiMinno | The Aroostook Republican)


Members of the Maroon team for the Aroostook County all-star basketball game on March 9 include, from left, back row: Brea Daggett, Kylie Laplante, Mia Henderson, Gabby Sutherland, Allie Morgan and Coach Leland Caron. Front row: Breanne Barton, Olivia Henderson, Mia Theriault and Kassidy O’Leary. (David DiMinno | The Aroostook Republican)


The yellow team consisted of Faith Sjoberg, Sadie Lapointe and Courtney Kane of Presque Isle; Eva Calioras, Sara Mcshea and Camryn Ala of Fort Fairfield; Monique Polchies and Kaelyn Lawlor of Hodgdon; and Maizy Cullen and Makayla Hartsgrove of Katahdin. The yellow team was coached by Tim Watt.

The maroon team consisted of Olivia Henderson, Breanne Barton and Mia Henderson of Houlton; Kassidy O’Leary and Allie Morgan of Fort Kent; Breanne Daggett of Southern Aroostook; Kaylee Boyce of Easton; Kylie Lapante of Van Buren; and Gabby Sutherland and Mia Theriault of Caribou. The Maroon team was coached by Leland Caron.

In the first half, the yellow team came out with an early lead, but maroon was quick to close the gap. With 3-point finesse and fancy footwork, the athletes on the court demonstrated what made them all stars. While the game remained close, the yellow team ended the first half with a lead of 42-33.

In the second half, Sjoberg and Ala consistently made 3-pointers for the yellow team, but both Mia and Olivia Henderson were also keeping up the assault for maroon. Even with very similar skill levels, yellow managed to come on top in the end, ending the game, 79-66.

Sjoberg led the yellow team with 19 points, followed by Polchies with 13 points; Kane and Ala each scored 12; Hartsgrove added 10; McShea, five; and both Lapointe and Calioras chipping in four.

Olivia Henderson led the maroon team with 21 points, followed by Mia Henderson with 19 and Theriault with nine. Laplante scored another five points, Daggett scored four with both Morgan and Sutherland scoring three. Barton chipped in two points.

“It was great to be here and was a lot of fun,” coach Watt said. “It was great to see the seniors participate and it’s easy when you have very good players.”

Members of the Blue team for the Aroostook County all-star game include, from left, back row: Coach Matt Rossignol, Collin Bennett, Caleb Nash, Blake Martin, Noah Yarema and Xavier McAtee. Front row: Austin Deslisle, Jackson Maynard, Troy Hipsley, Carter Pelletier and Beckam Vaughn. (David DiMinno | The Aroostook Republican)


Members of the black team for the Aroostook County all-star basketball game on March 9 include, from left, back row: Braden Sargent, Chase Coiley, Lucas Haines, Hunter Burpee, Caleb Solomon, Justin Hurlbert and Coach Larry Worcester. Front: Collin Moody, Isaiah Gentle, Christopher Caswell and Adam Gendreau. (David DiMinno | The Aroostook Republican)

In the boys contest, the 40 athletes were split into blue and black teams.

The blue team consisted of Troy Hipley and Caleb Nash of Hodgdon; Beckam Vaughn of Washburn; Collin Bennett and Austin Delisle of Fort Kent; Blake Martin of Van Buren; Carter Pelletier of Wisdom; and Xavier McAtee, Noah Yarema and Jackson Maynard of Presque Isle. The blue team was coached by Matt Rossignol.

The black team consisted of Christopher Caswell and Hunter Burpee of Southern Aroostook; Chase Coiley of Fort Fairfield; Caleb Solomon, Isaiah Gentle and Collin Moody of Houlton; Lucas Haines of Central Aroostook; Braden Sargent of Caribou; Justin Hurlbert of Katahdin; and Adam Gendreau of Madawaska.

The boys game featured plenty of excitement as players tried their best to put on an entertaining showing for the audience. Yarema and Solomon both made some impressive dunks, and 3-pointers were made across the board. Despite the scoring prowess of both teams, the blue squad managed to go into halftime with a lead of 73-63.

In the second half, both teams continued to try to up the ante with their shots. Some attempted to make stellar half-court shots, while others went for power dunks and impressive dribbling displays. 

Each action gave way to more cheers from the crowd and the teams did not disappoint. In the end, the blue team pulled away with a 140-118 victory.

Yarema led the blue team with 31 points, followed by Martin with 20 points; Maynard, 17; Delisle, 14; McAtee, Pelletier and Hipsley, each had 13; Vaughn,  11; and Nash, eight.

Haines led the black team with 32 points, followed by Solomon with 22; Gentle, 14; Sargent, 12; Coiley, 10; Caswell and Moody, both eight; Burpee and Hurlbert, both five; and Gendreau, two.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.