UMFK announces annual student awards and scholarships

FORT KENT, Maine – The University of Maine at Fort Kent has announced its annual student awards and scholarships recently presented to both undergraduate students and those who graduated this spring. These awards and scholarships are presented to deserving students for their contributions to campus and their academic achievements.

 John L. Martin Environmental Scholarship Award was presented to Jacob Paris (Fort Kent). Shane Tweedie (Winthrop) and Andrew Kooken (Hampstead, New Hampshire) were presented the Thomas S. Pinkham Memorial Scholarship.

Luse Lumas (Tracy, California) honored with the Student Senate Outstanding Senior. The UMFK Alumni Association Outstanding Senior Award was presented to Luke Mason (Bethel).

 The Gretchen Prize in Fine Arts, which recognizes a student who shows exceptional initiative and industry in the visual arts, was awarded to Tolulope Oyeniyi (Calgary, Alberta).

Kimberly Blanchette (Frenchville) was honored with the Behavioral Science Award, which is given to an academically strong graduating senior, who has either majored or minored in the behavioral sciences program. 

 The Biology Award was presented to Lea Pelletier (Wallagrass) which is given to a student in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of biology.

  Tolulope Oyeniyi was named the recipient of the Computer Applications Award, for her high-grade point average in computer science courses and future growth and development potential in the computer applications field.

For his outstanding achievement and positive attitude toward learning, forestry student Adam Bagley (Parkman) was presented with the Applied Forest Management Award. 

The Cybersecurity Award was presented to Dylan Jurson (Houlton) for his academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of cybersecurity. 

The Business Management Award was presented to Kyle Chamberland (St. Agatha) and Amber Rankin (Fort Kent) for their outstanding work completing the degree program.

 The Emergency Management Award was presented to Christopher Fox (Hampden) for his academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of emergency management.

Benjamin Ruest (Madawaska) received the Criminal Justice Award for his academic achievement and demonstrated active in the discipline. 

 The Conservation Law Enforcement Award was given to Connor McLain (Rochester, New Hampshire) in recognition of academic excellence and future contributions within the area of conservation law enforcement.

The student award in the Rural Public Safety Administration program was presented to Parker Jandreau (Fort Kent).

 Three separate awards were presented to UMFK nursing students. The Outstanding Traditional Nursing Award was presented to Orobosa Baptiste (Edo State, Nigeria) and Amanda Milligan (Livermore Falls).  The Outstanding RN-BSN Award was awarded to Amelia Capella (Woolwich). The Outstanding Accelerated Nursing Award was presented to Peter Nyame (Fort Kent).

 The Faculty Academic Achievement Awards were presented to Valedictorian Tolulope Oyeniyi and Salutatorian Orobosa Baptiste.

 Benjamin Ruest earned the Associate of Arts Academic Achievement Award for his outstanding work toward attaining a two-year degree. 

The Associate of Science Academic Achievement Award was awarded to Jonathan Haley (Fort Kent) for his outstanding work toward attaining a two-year degree.

The Dean’s Award, is awarded to a junior or senior student with a high-grade point average and has demonstrated scholarly attributes, was presented to Tolulope Oyeniyi.

 The Presidential Award for Academic Excellence awarded to students who have achieved the Dean’s List for seven consecutive semesters. The students honored were: Maddison Arnold (Holden); Kimberly Blanchette (Frenchville); Makayla Boudreau (Hudson); Torri Bray (Ellsworth); Bryce Coffin (Stockholm); Morgan Crocker (Stetson); Brooke Howland (Houlton); Sarah Manzo (Orono); Tolulope Oyeniyi; Alexander Ruest (Madawaska); and Alyssa Smith (Carmel).

The Haenssler Prize Award, is given to a graduating senior who has shown courage in overcoming all obstacles in achieving high academic standing, was presented to Luke Mason.

The senior class honored Stephen Hansen, professor of biology and environmental studies, and Sandy Pelletier, lecturer of nursing, with the Outstanding Faculty Award. Lois Canzoni, student affairs’ administrative specialist, and Denise Potvin, nursing clinical placement and testing coordinator, were honored with the Outstanding Staff Award for the 2020-2021 academic year.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.