Local soccer players earn statewide honors

The Maine Soccer Coaches have announced a number of Aroostook County soccer players that have been selected to state and regional all-star teams for the fall 2020 season.

The group was founded in 1973, under the name the Maine State Soccer Coaches Association, according to the Maine Soccer Coaches website. It is one of the state’s largest coaching organizations with 253 member schools, which includes girls coaches from 125 schools and boys coaches from 128 schools — divided into four classes according to the school’s student population. The group’s mission is to encourage excellence in training coaches and players and to serve the soccer community.

The group also names a Coach of the Year for the North and South regions for large, small and private schools. Michael Jeffrey, president of the Maine Soccer Coaches, said those winners will be announced later in the week.

Traditionally, the athletes would be honored with a banquet in December. But this year, no banquet will be held because of COVID-19.

Girls soccer

Local schoolgirl athletes named to the Northern Maine State Team were Caribou’s Edie Shea, midfield; Fort Kent’s Gabby Martin and Lacy Pelletier, both midfield; Central Aroostook’s Libby Grass, backfield; and Fort Fairfield’s Camryn Ala, midfield.

Named to the Maine Soccer Coaches Regional All-Star Teams for girls soccer for Class B were: Caribou’s Sage Dubay, goalkeeper, Shea, midfield, and Gabbie Sutherland, forward; Presque Isle’s Meg Casavant, backfield, Rylee Kinney, midfield, and Jenna Sargent, backfield. 

Honorees for Class C were: Fort Kent’s Martin, midfield, Lyndsay Ouellette, goalkeeper, and Pelletier, midfield; Houlton’s Breanne Barton, midfield, and Natalie DeLucca, backfield.

Honorees for Class D were: Ashland’s Danni Carter, backfield, and Willow Hall, forward; Central Aroostook’s Libby Grass, backfield; Fort Fairfield’s Camryn Ala, midfield; Hodgdon’s Sabra Scott, forward; Katahdin’s Daniel Libby, backfield; Southern Aroostook’s Madison Russell,  forward; Washburn’s Emma Johnston, backfield and Trin Saucier, goalkeeper; Wisdom’s Emma Chamberland, goalkeeper, Abbie Lerman, forward, and Olivia Ouellette, midfield.

Boys soccer

Local schoolboy athletes named to the Northern Maine State team were: Caribou’s Riley Bouchard, midfield, and Ethan Holdsworth, forward; Presque Isle’s Xavier McAtee, goalkeeper, and Connor Michaud, backfield; Fort Kent’s Austin Delisle, midfield; and Van Buren’s Gabriel Morales, forward.

Named to the Northern Maine Class B Regional All-Star Team were: Caribou’s Riley Bouchard, midfield, Ethan Holdsworth, forward; and Presque Isle’s Xavier McAtee, goalkeeper, Conner Michaud, backfield, and Jonah Roy, midfield. 

Honorees for Class C were: Fort Kent’s Austin Delisle, midfield, and Dylan Hebert, backfield; and Houlton’s Isaiah Gentle, forward.

Named to the Class D team were: Ashland’s Brady Holmes, forward; Central Aroostook’s Bryan Anthony, forward; Easton’s Camden Michaud, midfield; Hodgdon’s Jeremiah Goff, backfield, and Josh McGillicuddy, forward; Madawaska’s Caleb Bassett, midfield, Robbie Lausier, midfield, and Justin Pelletier, backfield; Southern Aroostook’s Xavier Morales, midfield; and Van Buren’s Emanuel Deschaine, backfield, Henry Hebert, midfield, and Gabriel Morales, forward.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.