Law enforcement ready for drug take-back event

AROOSTOOK COUNTY, Maine — National Prescription Drug Take-back Day is this Saturday, Oct. 28, and local law enforcement personnel urge Aroostook County citizens to bring in unwanted or unused prescription drugs for proper disposal.

National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day aims to provide a safe, convenient, and responsible means of disposing of prescription drugs, while also educating the general public about the potential for abuse of medications.

During April’s take-back event, federal, state, and local government entities took back a record 900,386 pounds of unused, expired, or unwanted drugs at nearly 5,500 collection locations across the country, including almost 14 tons of unwanted medications in Maine alone.

U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Angus King (I-ME) announced the locations of the Maine collection sites and praised the national take-back initiative.

“In addition to posing serious health and safety hazards, unused prescription drugs collecting in our homes can create unintended gateways to addiction, fueling the heroin and opioid abuse crisis,” said the senators in a joint statement.

“Following a record collection last spring, we are confident that Mainers will continue to lead efforts to protect their children, their homes, and our environment from the abuse and improper handling of unused prescription drugs by participating in this program.”

Sponsoring agencies and drug take-back sites for Oct. 28 in The County include:

Aroostook County Sheriff’s Office, 25 School St., Houlton.

Ashland Police Department, 17 Bridgham St., Ashland.

Caribou Police Department, two sites: Caribou Police Department, 25 High St., and Caribou High School, 308 Sweden St., Caribou.

Fort Fairfield Police Department 8 Community Center Dr., Fort Fairfield.

Fort Kent Police Department, 416 West Main St., Fort Kent.

Houlton Police Department, 97 Military St., Houlton.

Limestone Police Department, Stacey Mahan, 93 Main Street, Limestone.

Madawaska Police Department, 428 Main St., Madawaska.

Presque Isle Police Department, 43 North Street, Ste 2, Presque Isle.

Van Buren Police Department, Sgt. Luke R. Dyer, 51 Main St., Van Buren.

Washburn Police Department, Chief Douglas Conroy, 1287 Main St., Washburn.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.