UMFK athletes win 2022 Track and Field National Championships

FORT KENT, Maine — Just five years in the making, the University of Maine at Fort Kent track and field teams have already taken home national championships. 

The Bengals won the 2022 USCAA Track & Field National Championships on both the men’s and the women’s side at the national competition that took place Saturday, April 30, in Albany, New York.

“The women won a two horse race over Mississippi University for Women that came down to the final events, while the men won another close contest over a tightly packed field at the top of the scoreboard,” UMFK Coach Matt Dyer said.  

The UMFK track and field program began as a club sport in 2017. As well as winning the USCAA team championship honors this year, individual UMFK athletes also made multiple podium appearances at the championship.  

University of Maine at Fort Kent athletes won the 2022 USCAA Track & Field National Championships. (Courtesy of University of Maine at Fort Kent)

Individual award winners for the UMFK women were as follows:

Abbi Thompson won gold medals in the shot put and discus events.

Silver medal recipients were Marjorie Johnson in the 800m and 5k, Mercy Tanui in the 10k, Jess Combs in the javelin, Olivia Picard in the shot put and discus, and Thompson in the hammer. 

The women’s 4x100m relay team of Jordan Maxwell, Casey Veilleux, Vinnette Blake, and Sheba Johnson, and the women’s 4x400m relay team of Marjorie Johnson, Vinnette Blake, Casey Veilleux, and Sheba Johnson also earned silver medals at the competition.

Winning bronze medals were S. Johnson in the 400m, Jordan Maxwell in the 100m hurdles, M. Johnson in the 10k and high jump, Combs in the discus, and Blake in the long jump and triple jump. 

For the men, individual gold medal winners were Ajay Thompson in the 110m hurdles and high jump, Raheem Thompson in the 200m, Rodane Hibbert in the 400m hurdles, and the men’s 4x100m relay team of Brian Wright, Ajay Thompson, Raheem Thompson, and Rodane Hibbert.

Winning silver medals for the Bengal men were  R. Thompson in the 100m, Hibbert in the javelin, and the Men’s 4x400m relay team of Hibbert, Mert Kiyga, Brian Wright, and R. Thompson. 

Bronze medal recipients were Wright in the 100m, A. Thompson in the 200m, Hibbert in the 400m, and Younes Iggoute in the hammer.

“Both programs look forward to their title defense in 2023,” Coach Dyer said.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.