Local students earn scholarships

ELLSWORTH and PORTLAND, Maine — Two St. John Valley students have received scholarships from the Maine Community Foundation’s Androscoggin County Committee.

 Britney Nadeau of New Canada was a renewal recipient.

Mya Eno of Fort Kent received a new scholarship.

 Established in 2013, the statewide Laurendeau Scholarship Fund supports young women who are graduating seniors from high schools in Maine who are pursuing post-secondary education in either science or engineering at a four-year university. There is a preference for applicants demonstrating an interest and/or actively participating in their Franco-American heritage.

 The deadline for the next round of scholarships is June 1, 2022. Applications are available at

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.