Council seats, school board seats up for grabs in Fort Kent

FORT KENT, Maine — Three candidates are vying for two Fort Kent Town Council seats in the 2021 town election. The seats held by Dr. John Bouchard and Corey Pelletier expire in March. 

Dr. Bouchard, council chairperson, has chosen not to run for reelection. Pelletier will defend his seat. Former candidate Andrew Caron and newcomer Brandon Lee Dayton are also seeking election to the council.

Four seats are up for grabs on the seven-member SAD 27 school board this year, although only one of the seats is contested. Incumbent Sarah Ashley will run against Beurmond Banville for Ashley’s expiring Subdistrict 4 seat. The term will be for three years. Subdistrict 4 only includes residents of Fort Kent. 

Subdistrict 1 representative Keith Jandreau Jr. is running unopposed for his three-year seat, which is expiring. Subdistrict 1 includes all residents of St. Francis, all residents of St. John Plantation. and some residents of Fort Kent.

Isabelle Lozier is running unopposed for the Subdistrict 2 seat she has temporarily filled following the resignation of Clarence “Cur” Soucy in November 2020. This seat will expire in one year.  Subdistrict 2 includes all residents of Wallagrass and some residents of Fort Kent. 

Abigail Pooler is also running unopposed for the Subdistrict 3 seat she has held for several months following the relocation of board member Jacob Theriault. This seat will expire in two years. Subdistrict 3 includes all residents of New Canada and some residents of Fort Kent.

The Fort Kent election will take place from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday, March 22, at the Knights of Columbus Hall on Frenchville Road. The annual Fort Kent Town Meeting will follow at 7:30 p.m. at the same location.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.