Higher Education Assistance Foundation awards scholarship

FORT KENT, Maine – The trustees of the Maine Higher Education Assistance Foundation (MeHEAF) are pleased to announce the awarding of a scholarship for $1,000 to Megan Blanchette of New Canada.  

Blanchette is a junior pursuing a bachelor’s degree in business at the University of Maine at Fort Kent, where she maintains a high grade-point average. 

Chris Pinkham, president of the Maine Bankers Association, made the presentation to Blanchette at a luncheon ceremony on Friday, March 13, at UMFK’s Nowland Hall faculty dining room with members of UMFK’s Professional Studies faculty, representatives from the association and local bank, and her family, in attendance.

Participating schools select scholarship recipients who are in their second, third, or fourth year of study and whom are Maine high school graduates majoring in a business-related subject.  The schools choose recipients based upon academic standing. The MeHEAF awards all scholarships for second semester expenses.

Blanchette is a 2014 graduate of Community High School in Fort Kent. She works as a bookkeeper at GB&D Farms and is completing her internship program at Lee Theriault, CPA.

Organizers formed the Maine Higher Education Assistance Foundation in the 1950s as a guarantee fund for student loans.  The founders included a wide range of banks, businesses, community organizations and individuals. In 1990, the MeHEAF trustees, to continue the original intent of the founding members, initiated a scholarship program funded by the return on the original loan guarantee funds.  The Maine Bankers Association, now located in Westbrook, manages the fund. 

MeHEAF has given 32 scholarships to UMFK students to date. UMFK also has a plaque with each student’s name and year awarded, which the University displays in the Grindle conference room, located in Cyr Hall.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.