Wisdom athletes reap spring awards

ST. AGATHA, Maine — Wisdom High School officials have announced annual athletics awards for the school’s varsity sports teams. Staff recognized teams and individuals June 7 for their participation, with some athletes receiving individual honors.

The boys’ soccer team, led by Coach Scott Pelletier, earned recognition.  The team finished with a record of 3-and-11. Senior Dylan Weyenth was recognized as the team’s MVP and was also selected to the All-Aroostook Class D team.  Sophomore Trevor Couture was named Most Improved, with junior Jared Thibodeau receiving the Coach’s Award.

The girls’ soccer team made the playoffs this year under Coach Kevin Lavoie’s leadership.  The team hosted Washburn in a preliminary round game on the recently dedicated Field of Dreams. Senior Bailey Bellefleur was named the team’s MVP. Junior Alyssa Banville was chosen for the Coach’s Award.  Bellefleur, Banville, and senior Breanna Lavoie were chosen to the All-Aroostook team. Freshman Savanna Hanlin was recognized as the Most Improved player.

Freshman Patrick Parham was recognized for taking part in cross-country for Wisdom in the fall.

The girls’ basketball team, coached by Derek Grivois, was recognized.  The team received the Class D North sportsmanship banner, which was unveiled during the ceremony.  Junior Alyssa Banville was named the team’s MVP. Banville was also named to the All-Aroostook team.  Senior Desiree Dumais was named the choice for the Coach’s Award, and senior Riley Theriault received the Most Improved player award.

The boys’ basketball team finished the season at 5-and 13, just missing the playoffs.  The team was recognized by their first-year coach, Nathan Boynton. Senior Jack Guerrette was named the team’s MVP.  Guerrette was also named to the All-Aroostook team, and displayed a banner denoting his being the latest Wisdom player to score 1,000 points in a career. Senior Dylan Weyeneth was named the recipient of the Coach’s Award, and freshman Jonah Babin was named the Most Improved player.

Sophomore Jacob Roy was recognized for taking part in Alpine skiing.  Roy was the County champion in the downhill, and was named to the All-Aroostook team for the second consecutive year.  Roy capped off his season by finishing second in Class B during the slalom competition.

Coaches Tracie Boucher and Kevin Lavoie, in place of coach Brandon Lavoie, presented certificates to members of the girls’ and boys’ volleyball teams.

The varsity softball team returned to the field after a one-year hiatus under the leadership of Coach Kevin Lavoie.  Senior Riley Theriault was named the team’s MVP. Theriault and senior Breanna Lavoie were also named to the All-Aroostook team.  Senior Dorothy Harris was named the Coach’s Award winner, and freshman Savanna Hanlin was named Most Improved.

The varsity baseball team, under first-year coach Nathan Boynton, qualified for he preliminary playoff round.  Their season ended with a loss to Central Aroostook. The team’s MVP was senior Jack Guerrette. Guerrette and senior Dylan Weyeneth were also chosen for the All-Aroostook team.  Senior Kyle Chamberland was named the Coach’s Award recipient, and freshman Jonah Babin was selected the Most Improved player.

Seniors Riley Theriault and Dylan Weyeneth were recognized earlier in the year as Aroostook League Scholar Athletes, with Theriault chosen to receive a scholarship from the league.  The Athletic Department also recognized Theriault and Weyeneth as the choices for female/male sportsmanship awards.

Lastly, Breanna Lavoie and Weyeneth were announced as the top senior athletes for the Class of 2018.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.