Top Stories

Marrero and Graham capture Turkey Trot victories

CARIBOU, Maine — Dylan Marrero of Caribou and Mandy Graham of Mapleton ran to Caribou Turkey Trot titles Saturday.

Marrero captured the overall title by a mere two seconds over runner-up Max Bartley of Presque Isle, while Graham’s margin of victory in the women’s race was 2 minutes and 16.8 seconds over Marie Beckum of Caribou.

Marrero registered a time of 18:26.9 on the five-kilometer course. Bartley came in at 18:28.9. The third-place finisher was Evan Desmond of Caribou with a time of 20:10.9. Chris Rines of Houlton (20:13.3) and Owen McQuarrie of Presque Isle (21:17.2) rounded out the overall top five.

Graham finished sixth overall in 21:24.9. Beckum came in at 23:41.7, placing ninth overall, while third-place female finisher Kayley Bell crossed the line in 24:35.9.

The remainder of the overall top 10 included: seventh, Isaac Raymond, 21:45.9; eighth, Steven Dubois, 22:02.9; and 10th, William MacLeod, 24:15.

Thirty eight runners and 17 walkers participated in the annual event.

The starting and finishing line was at Caribou High School as the course took participants out onto Woodland Center and Lombard roads and back.

Division winners were: 14-and-under female, Bell; 15-19 female, Annika Reynolds (29:19.4); 30-39 female, Beckum; 40-49 female, Heidi Bartley (34:23.3); 60-and-over female, Connie McLellan (30:56.9); 14-and-under male, Luis Robertson (29:54.8); 15-19 male, Max Bartley; 20-29 male, Raymond; 30-39 male, Rines; 40-49 male, Steven Dubois; 50-59 male, Glenney Mahan (24:43.2); 60-69 male, Roy Alden (29:11.3); and 70-and-over male, Ed Malone (26:08.2).

David Belyea and Laurie Sirois were the first-place male and female finishers in the walker’s division. Their times were 30:46.5 and 37:05.8, respectively.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.