County students win Maine Community Foundation scholarships

ELLSWORTH, Maine — The Maine Community Foundation announces recipients of two scholarships benefitting Aroostook County students: the Sally Stetson Tongren Scholarship Fund for Aroostook County and the Aspire Scholarship Fund.

The Tongren Scholarship Fund for Aroostook County provides renewable support to graduating seniors of high schools in Aroostook County who are pursuing post-secondary education. A total of $55,000 in scholarships was awarded to Elise Allen, Breann Clayton and Zachary Hammond from Easton; Bryce Coffin, Stockholm; Abigail Gonneville and Mandy Li, Madawaska; Danika Deschaine, Van Buren; Olivia Gervais, Frenchville; Sydney Howell, Ludlow; and Joshua Quist and Christina Skidgel, Caribou.

The students will attend Maine Maritime Academy, Husson University, University of Maine, Bowdoin College, Northern Maine Community College, University of New Hampshire, and Ave Maria University.

The Aspire Scholarship provides renewable support to students who have resided a substantial part of their formative years (grades K-12) in Presque Isle or Washburn, and adult learners who have built a life in either town and are returning to school. A total of $5,000 was awarded to Hunter Flynn and Austin Robichaud, who will attend Husson University and the University of Maine at Presque Isle.

The next deadline for applications for both scholarships is May 15, 2019. Applications are available at

The MCF is headquartered in Ellsworth, with additional personnel in Portland, Dover-Foxcroft and Mars Hill.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.