72 attend boys’ basketball camp

PRESQUE ISLE, Maine — The Aroostook Basketball Camp recently completed its boys’ week, which ran from June 25-29 at Presque Isle High School.

A total of 72 boys between the ages of 9 and 15 attended this year’s camp, which was held for the 20th year. The camp is under the direction of Bill and Chris Casavant.  This years staff included former high school coaches Larry Murphy and Phil Faulkner and current coaches Jeff Hudson, Dillon Kingsbury, Kayla Richards and Bill Guerrette.

Daily, the players participated in basketball drills, team games and individual skill drills and competition.

“Our staff is dedicated to teaching youngsters the fundamentals of the game as well as game strategies along with teamwork, sportsmanship and discipline. Every player regardless of age or what school they attend receives the same instruction,” said Bill Casavant.

Awards were presented on the final day for team and individual excellence. All-star selections and league champions were recognized as well as division MVPs, most improved players, best defensive players, coaches award recipients, 1 on 1 champions, 3 on 3 champions and foul shooting champions.

Members of the high school division all-star teams were Landon Belanger, Carson Richards, Ethan Collier, Eli Mosher, Colby Ouellette, Owen Corrigan, Brandon Porter, Trafton Russell, Mason Oakes, Lane Carmichael, Carter Vigue and Killian Deschene.

The Lions were the high school division league champions. Team members were Eli Mosher, Trafton Russell, Gavin Plant, Will Whited, Alex Whited, Declan Miller, Aaron Chase, Ethan Collier, Jack Hentosh and Max Graves. 

Special awards for the high school division were as follows: 1-on-1 champion, Ethan Collier; foul shooting champion, Brandon Porter; coaches award winner, Alex Duprey; Most Improved Player, Ethan Willard; Best  Defense, Colby Ouellette; 3-on-3, Ethan Collier, Logan White, Nate Tompkins and Kellan McCrum.

College all-stars in the 12-15 age group were Buddy Porter, Evan Deschaine, Jacob Devine, Jackson Maynard, Cody Carter, Rob Lausier, Jude Mosher, Camden Michaud, Dylan Burpee, Keegan Cyr, Lucas Haines, Aiden Churchill, Colin Bennett and Malachi Fitzherbert.

Louisville won the College Division title. The roster included Wyatt Allen, Ben Turner, Ben Beaulieu, Bryce Martin, Jude Mosher, Colby Burlock, Cody Carter, Jacob Devine and Rob Lausier.

Special awards for the college division went to the following: 1-on-1 champion, Camden Michaud; foul shooting champion, Evan Deschaine; coaches award winner, Aiden Churchill; Most Improved Player, Jude Mosher; Best Defense, Camden Michaud;     3-on-3 champions, Camden Michaud, Dawson Beaulieu, Kamron Tardiff and Jackson Maynard.

The high school division MVP was Ethan Collier and the college division MVP was Rob Lausier.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.