Valley students earn 2018 Laurendeau Scholarships

ELLSWORTH and PORTLAND, Maine — The scholarship subcommittee of the Maine Community Foundation’s Androscoggin County Committee awarded three Laurendeau Scholarships, two of which went to students from Aroostook County.

Danica Deschaine of Van Buren, attending Ave Maria University, and Olivia Gervais of Frenchville, attending the University of Maine, received scholarships. Maegan Sheehy of Sabattus, attending Rivier University, also received an award.

The statewide Laurendeau Scholarship Fund provides support to young women from high schools in Maine who are pursuing post-secondary education in either science or engineering at a four-year university. There is a preference for applicants demonstrating an interest and/or actively participating in their Franco-American heritage.

The deadline for the next round of scholarships is June 1, 2019. Applications are available at

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.