Duval receives Person of the Year at UMCE

EDMUNDSTON, New Brunswick — Sandrine Duval, third-year student in the Bachelor of Individualized Studies, was named the Person of the Year at UMCE at the annual Blue and Gold student merit gala at the University of Moncton, Edmundston Campus (UMCE), held Thursday, April 5.

This is the most prestigious of the 17 awards presented at the event, which was to honor the students who have excelled in several areas: AGÉÉUMCE, sports, socio-cultural, commitment and personality of the year. It was also a rally to highlight another academic year ending.

A native of Edmundston, Duval has demonstrated great dedication to student life at UMCE, and has shown exceptional commitment to the activities of the sector of education, the student association, various committees and student mentoring. Her commitment goes beyond the borders of the campus. She is involved with volunteer organizations in the region including the Relay for Life, the regional fair and KEY project. Moreover, she received another major award at the gala last year, the citizen engagement prize from 2016 to 2017.

During the evening, another 16 awards were presented in five categories.

The dynamism and the excellence of the education and kinesiology sector were honored by the award of the Year Sector Award.

Citizen Commitment Award 2017-2018 was awarded to Pascale Bouchard of Edmundston, a student in primary education. He is  active in various organizations in the region including the Scout Association of St. Basil, Operation Red Nose, the Regional Science Fair and the Circle of Friends and friends of the NBTA. Pascale Bouchard was decorated again in the evening by winning the involvement prize of AGÉÉUMCE.

On the initiative of the Year Award was awarded to Caroline Akerley, St. Leonard, student administration for its “My journey through time.” She, on her own, launched the initiative to promote studies in the Northwest High School. Caroline met Akerley students to inform them of his own testimony, is the transition from a student to a student with all the challenges and questions that the transition included.

The prize list and winners include:



Prix de la recrue de l’année : Mily Caron, de Saint-Léonard-Parent (baccalauréat ès arts, majeure en psychologie).

Prix de l’ombre : Mélissa Frenette, de Dunlop (années préparatoires au travail social).

Prix du dévouement : Franceska Lepage, de Dundee (éducation primaire).

Prix de l’implication : Pascale Bouchard, d’Edmundston (éducation primaire).

Prix du secteur de l’année : éducation et kinésiologie.



Recrue féminine de l’année : Audrey Caron, de Saint-Quentin – volley-ball (administration des affaires).

Recrue masculine de l’année : Alexandre Chiasson, de Saint-Jacques – hockey (administration des affaires).

Athlète féminine de l’année : Bianka Ouellet, de Saint-Hilaire – ultimate frisbee (éducation primaire).

Athlète masculin de l’année : Jacob Morneault, de Saint-François-de-Madawaska – hockey (administration des affaires).

Athlète féminine par excellence : Tamika Bérubé-Bergeron, de Kedgwick – volleyball et ultimate frisbee (kinésiologie).

Athlète masculin par excellence : Dominic Jalbert, d’Edmundston – ultimate frisbee (programme préparatoires aux sciences de la santé).



Étoile recrue : Sébastien Gionet, de Saint-François-de-Madawaska (baccalauréat en sciences sociales, majeure en sciences politiques).

Étoile de l’implication : Bernard Fournier, de Saint-Jacques (baccalauréat ès arts, majeure en psychologie).

Étoile de l’excellence : Iza Pinette Drapeau, d’Edmundston (baccalauréat ès arts, majeure en psychologie).



Prix de l’engagement citoyen : Pascale Bouchard, d’Edmundston (éducation primaire).

Prix de l’initiative de l’année : Caroline Akerley, de Saint-Léonard (administration des affaires)



Sandrine Duval, d’Edmundston (baccalauréat en études individualisées).

Star of Excellence: Iza Pinette Flag, Edmundston (Bachelor of Arts, Major in Psychology).



Price of citizen engagement: Pascale Bouchard Edmundston (primary education).

Price of the initiative of the year: Caroline Akerley, of St. Leonard (Business Administration)



Sandrine Duval, Edmundston (Bachelor of Individualized Studies).

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.