All-star games to feature top seniors in Aroostook League

CARIBOU, Maine — The annual Aroostook League Senior All-Star Basketball Games will be held at Caribou High School on Wednesday, March 7, with the girls’ game starting at 5:30 p.m. and the boys’ game following at approximately 7 p.m.

Students from the Maine Dance Academy will present a dance performance at halftime of both games.

Proceeds from the games go to the Aroostook League Scholarship program. In 2017, the Aroostook League awarded 10 $400 scholarships at the annual Aroostook League Scholar/Athlete Banquet. The scholarship winners were chosen by a drawing and the scholarships were awarded at the beginning of the students’ second semester of their first year in college. This year’s banquet is set for March 12 in Caribou.

All those involved — referees, coaches, ticket takers, ticket sellers, announcers, the Maine Dance Academy, time keepers and scorekeepers, are volunteering their time to aid the scholarship program.

This is the final time this season for basketball fans in Aroostook County to watch many of the outstanding senior basketball players display their skills on the hardwood.

Admission is $3 for elementary, middle school and high school students and $5 for adults.

Girls expected to participate are: Amber Chasse, Megan Cote and Morgan Doughty, all of Ashland; Searra Herbert and Gabrielle Marquis of Caribou; Caitlyn Harris and Kassie Levesque of Central Aroostook; Haleigh Shay of East Grand; Isabelle Morin of Easton; Sadie Edgecomb of Fort Fairfield; Cassidy Lovley and Jordan O’Leary of Fort Kent; Janelle Goff and Sydney Howell of Hodgdon; Natalie Rickards of Katahdin; Hannah Nadeau of Madawaska; Chrissy Skidgel and Emily Wheaton of Presque Isle; Cassidy Wilder of Shead; and Jennie Cox of Woodland.

Libby LaPointe of Fort Kent was selected to play but is injured. Diana Trams, former coach at Washburn, will join Ron Ericson, also a former Beavers boss, as the coaches.

Boys players are: Baily Clark of Ashland; Nick Allen of Caribou; Caleb Harris and Colby Kingsbury, both of Central Aroostook; Collin Sotomayor of Easton; Thomas Gilman of East Grand; Isaac Cyr, Jared Harvey and Alex Sprague, all of Fort Fairfield; Jacob Daigle of Fort Kent; Wyatt Foster of Hodgdon; Cameron Cleary and Nick Perfitt of Houlton; Hunter Craig and Brody Guiggey of Katahdin; Ben Hebert of Madawaska; Griffin Guerrette of Presque Isle; Ethan Lank of Shead; Jack Guerrette of Wisdom; and Justin Worden of Woodland.

Randy Norsworthy, a former coach at Washburn, and Steve Shaw, who coached at Easton and Central Aroostook, will be the two boys’ coaches.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.