News

UMaine Cooperative Extension plans winter ag school

MADAWASKA and PRESQUE ISLE, Maine — The University of Maine Cooperative Extension, along with Madawaska Adult & Community Education and Presque Isle Adult Ed, announce the 2018 Winter Ag School programs.

All classes are free and open to the public, and will be held from 6 to 8 p.m. at Adult & Community Education, 135 7th Ave., Madawaska, and in Presque Isle at the Adult Ed location, 79 Blake St.

Randy Lagasse, district forester, will instruct Private Woodlot Management on Tuesday, Feb. 13, in Madawaska and Wednesday, Feb. 14, in Presque Isle.

Sukhwinder Bali, UMCE assistant professor, and Randy Martin of The King’s Gardener will teach Home Gardening Tuesday, Feb. 27, in Madawaska and Wednesday, Feb. 28, in Presque Isle.

Pesticide training is scheduled tentatively for Tuesday, March 6, in Madawaska and Wednesday, March 7, in Presque Isle. Jim Dwyer, UMCE crops specialist, and Martin will lead the sessions, which offer 2 pesticide recertification credits.

Martin and John Hoffses of the SAD 1 School Farm will team up for Apple Management, offering 2 pesticide recertification credits, in Madawaska on Tuesday, March 13, and in Presque Isle on Wednesday, March 14.

Lastly, Backyard Poultry is planned Tuesday, March 20, in Madawaska and Wednesday, March 21, in Presque Isle, led by Linda Trickey, UMCE agricultural assistant.

To register for Madawaska classes, call Madawaska Adult Ed at 728-6314; the Extension in Fort Kent at 834-3905 or 1 (800) 287-1421; or visit http://madawaska.maineadulted.org/.

To register for Presque Isle classes, call Presque Isle Adult Ed at 764-4776; the Extension at 764-3361 or 1 (800) 287-1462; or visit http://msad1.maineadulted.org/.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.