St. John Valley

Seven Van Buren students compete in the Voice of Democracy Speech Contest

Seven students at Van Buren District Secondary School competed in the Voice of Democracy Speech Contest on Oct. 12. The Voice of Democracy is a scholarship program established by the VFW in 1947 to allow students to voice their stand on democratic principles and themes. Scholarships are awarded at the post, regional, state and national level. This year’s theme is “American History: Our Hope for the Future.” Participants were, from left: Tyler Poitras; Julia Berube, first-place winner; Lauren Headley, second place; Kylie Levesque; Alexis Violette; Sophie Rioux, third place; and Erica Ouellette.

(Courtesy of Van Buren District Secondary School)

Van Buren District Secondary School students competed Oct. 12 in the VFW-sponsored Voice of Democracy Speech Contest. The three top winners were Sophie Rioux in third place, Lauren Headley in second place, and Julia Berube in first place. Berube will go on to compete in the regional competition. From left are the three judges, Alphy Durette and Roy Doucette from Post 49 American Legion, and media specialist Karen O’Neil; Berube; Headley; Rioux; and Susan Lajoie, history teacher and coordinator for the competition.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.