UMFK students earn achievement awards

FORT KENT, Maine — University of Maine at Fort Kent students received awards and scholarships at the senior class banquet and awards convocation held May 12 in the UMFK Sports Center.

  The annual event honors graduating students for outstanding achievement and awards underclassmen with financial assistance in recognition of their hard work and campus involvement.

The UMFK Student Senate and the University’s Alumni Association presented outstanding senior honors. Sara Lea Hebert  of Biddeford received the top student award, voted upon by members of the Student Senate. Nikola Vukosavovic of Bar, Montenegro, received the Alumni Association Outstanding Senior Award.

Other awards included the following.           

Jessica Lynne Sirois (Fort Kent): The Teacher Education Award, recognizing academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area in education.

Georgii Safonov (Kiev, Ukraine): Performing Arts Award, honoring a student who has made major contributions and outstanding achievements in university theatre and musical productions.       

Ellen Borges (Fort Kent) and Shelagh Mairead Van Anglen (Daphne, Ala.): Gretchen Prize in Fine Arts, which recognizes a student who shows exceptional initiative and industry in the visual arts.

Cynthia M. Wailus (Penobscot): Roland A. Burns Award in the Arts and Humanities, given in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of the arts and humanities degree program.

Kaye Paula Lozier (Wallagrass): Behavioral Science Award, which is given to an academically-strong graduating senior who has either majored or minored in the behavioral sciences program.

Cole Hunter Porter (Sherman): Environmental Studies Award for his outstanding achievement and work in his area of study.

 Emma Kathleen Ashby (London, Ontario): Biology Award, given to a student in recognition of academic excellence and expected future contributions within the area of biology.

Danny Arthur Mitchell Jr. (Gouldsboro): Information Security Award, for his excellence in the study of information security.

Jamie Alexander Reid (Paisley, Great Britain): Computer Applications Award, honoring his high grade point average in computer science courses and future growth and development potential in the computer applications field.

Scott Jason Michaud (Caribou) and Nikola Vukosavovic (Bar, Montenegro): Business Management Award for their outstanding work completing the degree program.

Lucas E. Anderson (Patten): Criminal Justice Award for his academic achievement and demonstrated active in the discipline.

Taylor Reid Woodbury (Greene): Conservation Law Enforcement Award, given to in recognition of academic excellence and future contributions within the area of conservation law enforcement.

Isaac Milton Young (Lincolnville): Rural Public Safety Administration Award.

Shani J. Healey (Jefferson) and Alexandra Lee Macalle (Raleigh, NC): Outstanding Traditional Nursing Award

Anne Marie Grandchamp (Cumberland Center): Outstanding RN-BSN Award. Kaitlyn Megan Dorazio (York) and Christopher David Haake (Washington, D.C.): Outstanding Accelerated Nursing Award.

Valedictorian Isacc Milton Young (Lincolnville) and Salutatorian Emma Kathleen Ashby (London, Ontario): Faculty Academic Achievement Awards.

Daniel James Dudar (Lebanon, CT): Associate of Arts Academic Achievement Award for his outstanding work toward attaining a two-year degree.

Shannon Marie Smith (South Portland): Dean’s Award, awarded to a junior or senior student with a high grade point average who has demonstrated scholarly attributes.

Alexander Gregory Gillis (Nashville Plt.) and Brady H. Haynes (Winn): Thomas S. Pinkham Memorial Scholarship.

Meagan Morgan Pelletier (St. John Plt.): John L. Martin Environmental Scholarship.

Orufonomoh Mary Trudeau (Warri Delta State, Nigeria): Haenssler Prize Award, which is given to a graduating senior who has shown courage in overcoming all obstacles in achieving high academic standing.

The senior class honored Diane Griffin, assistant professor of nursing in adult health, with the Outstanding Faculty Award and Wilda Kelly, facilities maintenance worker, was honored as the Outstanding Staff Award for the 2016 – 2017 academic year.  

These students earned the Presidential Award for Academic Excellence for achieving the dean’s list for seven consecutive semesters: Emma Kathleen Ashby (London, Ontario); Jessica Ann Boynton (Frenchville); Courtney Lyn Bubier (Jay); Kristen Irene Champagne (Perry); Julia Marie DeStefano (North Monmouth); Michaella Elizabeth Gilbert (Greenville); Kaye Paula Lozier (Wallagrass); Alexa Jesse Massey (Caribou); Brianna Mills (Deux-Montagnes, Quebec); Marie-Laurence Montagne (Rosemere, Quebec); Amanda Theresa Pilecki (North Berwick); Jamie Alexander Reid (Paisley, Great Britain); Morgan Marie Thomas (Buxton); Shelagh Mairead Van Anglen (Daphne, Ala.); and Isaac Milton Young II (Lincolnville).  

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.