Events

Cross border grain farm tour and BBQ

Join us on Monday, July 10 for tours of two leading grain farms on either side of the US/Canada border (and bring a passport).  Free but pre-registration is required (see below).

First Stop — Eastern Grains Inc., New Brunswick

250 3rd Tier Road (3e Rang), DSL de Drummond

3:30–5:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time / 4:30–6:00 p.m. Atlantic Standard Time

Eric Thériault is a grain and seed producer, grain broker, and active member of the Atlantic Grains Council.  He will show us his system for cleaning, drying, storing, and ventilating grains to maintain high quality grains and seed.  Eric also will discuss the various variety, fertility, and fungicide trials he has at his farm with wheat, barley, oats, field peas, and soybeans. Directions to Eastern Grains Inc.: see http://www.easterngrains.ca/en/contact.php

Second Stop — Marquis Farm, Maine

287 Champlain St., Van Buren

5:30–7:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time / 6:30–8:00 p.m. Atlantic Standard Time

We’ll start with dinner and a discussion including reports on the 2017 season, local grain markets, research trial overview, a new regional email listserv for organic growers, and more.
After dinner, Wayne Marquis will show his grain cleaner and the new in-bin drying system he installed to maintain grain quality for food and beverage markets. We’ll also see one of his organic grain fields.  Wayne and his son farm 1600 acres and produce conventional and organic potatoes, barley, oats, and organic dairy forage.

This event is free, but pre-registration is required. Pre-registration deadline – July 5th. Register by phone and for questions about the event, contact Ellen Mallory — ellen.mallory@maine.edu; 207-581-2942.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.