Madawaska and Easton girls, Presque Isle and Fort Fairfield boys win volleyball titles

High school volleyball champions were crowned in four divisions recently.

The Div. I boys’ tourney champion was Presque Isle, which defeated Houlton 25-19, 25-12 in the championship match of the event held at Presque Isle High School March 16, 2017.

The Wildcats finished with a 7-1 record in pool play, followed by Houlton at 6-2. Caribou (4-3), Fort Kent (2-4) and Madawaska (1-5) also competed.

The Shiretowners’ Nolan Porter was the Most Outstanding Player and was joined on the all-tourney team by Dylan Johnston of Houlton, Pat Cash and Chan Villatora, both of PI; Ben Hebert of Madawaska and Zack Wright of Caribou.

Madawaska stopped Presque Isle in the finals, 25-22, 25-20, to take first place in the girls’ Div. I tourney played March 16 at Caribou High School.

The Wildcats had the best record during pool play, going 7-1. Madawaska followed at 6-2, with Caribou (4-4), Houlton (1-7) and Fort Kent (1-7) also participating.

Skylar Vogel of Presque Isle was the Most Outstanding Player and made the all-tournament team along with Elizabeth Ward of Houlton, Lea Pelletier and Hannah Daigle, both of Fort Kent; Jenna Dugal and Gabby Cyr, both of Madawaska; and Kaitlyn Waldermarson of Caribou.

At Washburn March 17, Div. II girls teams battled, with Easton edging Ashland in the title match, 25-23, 25-21.

Ten teams competed, with Ashland just getting past Washburn in one semifinal, 28-26, 26-14. The other semifinal saw Easton defeat LCS/MSSM, 25-17, 25-13.

LCS/MSSM defeated Hodgdon in a play-in game, 25-23.

In pool play, Easton took Pool A with a 7-1 mark, while Washburn went 6-2, Central Aroostook 4-4, Van Buren 2-6 and Wisdom 1-7. Ashland was the Pool B champ with a 7-1 record, followed by Hodgdon and LCS/MSSM, both at 5-3; Fort Fairfield art 3-5 and Greater Houlton Christian Academy at 0-8.

Named to the all-tournament team were Hannah Stratton of Ashland, Breanne Bradbury of Central Aroostook, Sara Gilman and Cassie Lovely, both of Easton; Amanda Whipple of Fort Fairfield, Jillian Ross of GHCA, Taylor Desrosiers of Hodgdon, Sam Zwecker of LCS/MSSM, Tiffany Morrow of Van Buren, Kassie Farley of Washburn and Cassie Boucher of Wisdom. An Outstanding Player Award was not given out.

Host Fort Fairfield was the winner of the boys’ Div. II tourney on March 18. The Tigers bested Easton in the finals, 25-23, 25-8.

Fort Fairfield beat Katahdin in one semifinal, 25-11, 25-16. Easton gained a 25-14, 25-16 triumph over Ashland in the other.

Pool play records were as follows: Pool A: Ashland (8-0), Katahdin (5-3), Central Aroostook (4-4), Hodgdon (2-6) and Wisdom (1-7). Pool B: Fort Fairfield (9-1), Easton (7-3), Washburn (6-4), LCS/MSSM (4-6), GHCA (3-7) and Van Buren (2-8).

Landen Kinney of Fort Fairfield was the tournament MVP. He headed up an all-tourney team which also included teammate Malcolm Langner, Jordan Doody of Easton, McCall Turner of Washburn, Travis Hatfield of LCS/MSSM, Jed Grant of GHCA, Luc Perreault of Van Buren, Baily Clark of Ashland, Devin McGraw of Katahdin, Colby Kingsbury of Central Aroostook, Wyatt Foster of Hodgdon and Mason Sirois of Wisdom.

Get the Rest of the Story

Thank you for reading your 4 free articles this month. To continue reading, and support local, rural journalism, please subscribe.